Tuesday, 17 October 2017

New Release:- On A Breeze By Meraki P. Lyhne



New Release



On a Breeze Through Denver,
 Chronicles of an Earned #6.5 

It can be read as a stand-alone and you don't have to read it to follow in book 7, Seedling of Lilith which will be going off to editor, soon.But if you're new to the world, it's a good little look behind the curtains at this huge world building, and if you're a fan and need something to hold you over until #7 comes out, you get a hint about what's coming.


Purchase Links






Chronicles of an Earned is a series where you’ll meet the entire spectrum of the paranormal. Where good and evil isn’t black and white, where Angels can be wrong, Demons not always the evil ones, and where witches, warlocks, and wizards aren’t as clear cut as general culture has you believe. Here, historical and mythological facts are twisted but kept as reliable and true to their sources as possible. All this with a side dish of hot and sweet MM.




Sunday, 15 October 2017

Fox Hunt (Haven City Series #10) by Zoe Perdita




Review

5 Stars


What happens when you put a young fox shifter in the same house as a shifter hunter?   That’s a story.  But Zoe also adds that Edward the fox is 18, homeless, and looking after his little sister.  Now the story just got doubled in interest.  But just to add to the mix, Poor Edward survived an attack by a shifter hunter that not only killed his father but also cost Edward the ability to speak due to having silver in his throat. Which means he speaks via sign language and via his mobile phone. 

Max Hunts shifters that have killed humans, he does not have any issues with shifters that abide the law.  But he is in a minority of hunters. Max life is his hunting, he has no time for anything else.  Until Edward is caught up in the hunt for a fox assassin.  Having come face to face with the assassin, Max via his friends in the local police force persuade Edward to stay under Max’s protection with his sister.

Both must adapt to each other and learn to trust the other.  Whilst hunting the assassin who is a sly fox.

I adore Edward, his fearless attitude and determination to protect his sister at all costs.  He doesn’t complain about his lot in the world.  He just adapts and moves forward.  

Zoe has done a wonderful job with both characters and the plot certainly had me on the edge of my seat a few times.  In fact I am having trouble writing this review as I do not want to give too much away.



I really enjoyed this book, so much so that I went and bought the rest of the series.


Wednesday, 11 October 2017


** NEW RELEASE **

In London Towne
Book 6  In the Oliver and Jack Series.


In the noisy, crowded streets of London, where shadows hold secrets often too horrible to describe, an orphan and his beloved pickpocket attempt to rebuild their shattered peace. This is the love story of Oliver Twist and the Artful Dodger. 



As Jack recovers from the sexual assault at Chalenheim's hands, he finds that he is unable to express his love for Oliver with any intimacy. Oliver, meanwhile, rescues Finley from Axminster Workhouse, and returns to London full of love for Jack and the desire to do whatever is necessary to help Jack recover his dignity and his passion.

Chalenheim is still on the loose in London, waiting for another chance at Jack and Finley, which soon comes. Though they escape with barely a scratch, Oliver vows to rid the world of the man who would dare lay hands upon his beloved Jack. 

In London Towne is the sixth and final book in Christina E. Pilz's Oliver & Jack gay historical romance series. If you enjoy stories about forbidden love battling against the dark forces that threaten to tear them apart, then you'll enjoy this tale, so pick up a copy today!

Purchase Links :-

You can read my reviews of the first Two books of the series, see links below the rest will be reviewed soon.






Saturday, 7 October 2017

Love & Lust by Jason Collins




4 Star
Review

This is another entertaining story from this author, What I really liked with this novel is the chemistry between the two-main character.  They feel right together and feed off each other’s strengths. 
Grant has just served 8 years in prison for a crime he did not knowingly commit, but his family who tricked him into being a getaway driver, swiftly lay the crime on Grant.  All he wants to do now is get on with 
the rest of his life and put the prison sentence and his family behind him.   Things are looking up for Grant when he has a stable job, and soon gets promoted.  Along the way he meets Noah and things look rosy for a while.
Noah is a struggling singer, touring the country and playing in dive bars to try and catch an eye from a agency or record company.   Then he meets Grant and the instant attraction soon turns into much more.  Noah also becomes an overnight success, when his YouTube video goes viral.
But seeing Grant and his boyfriend success, it’s not long before Grants family try to cash in on his association with Noah.
We are taken on a romantic journey with lots of obstacles along the way, Grant finds it difficult to talk about his past to anyone never mind someone important in his life as Noah.  But can he tell noah before someone else tells him?  And what is the fallout when the information is public knowledge?

I so wanted their relationship the succeed, so much so that I found it difficult to put the book down, as I constantly wanted to see what happened next.  The author is really good at adding uncertainty and mystery into his romance novels.


Sunday, 1 October 2017

Wrestling with Love (Wrestling #2) by D.H. Starr



Review
*****
Wrestling for Love, continues Derick and Scots story as they head to University.  We follow the guys as they navigate living together, and coming out.  Derick decides to be out and proud early in the book, He joins the LGBT Alliance.  But Scot is afraid to come out, as he is still on the wrestling team and is afraid of what the team would do if he was out.
The story revolves around how the guys deal iwith their differences.  As if that is not enough Derick soon finds out his friendliness and thinking the best of people has come back to bite him on the bum. Derrick meets Tyrell at the orientation class.  Tyrell is open and forward in his attitude to being gay.  Initially Derrick kind of believes that’s a good thing.  But soon Tyrell causes lots of trouble for Derrick and the knock-on effect trouble between Derrick and Scott.  Derrick is outed publicly and harassed by Tyrell. 

Thinks get very difficult between Derrick and Scott especially as Derrick refuses to report Tyrell for his behaviour.   But when push comes to shove, they both see the bigger picture, and learn new things about their selves.

Once again, the characters come across true and the story flows nicely with a good mix of conflict and happy times.  I am really enjoying following the boys journey in life and cannot wait to continue the journey and see where it takes them.


Goodreads   Amazon Links To Follow

Saturday, 30 September 2017

Adrian's Bodyguard (Vampires of Vadin #1) by Shelby Rhodes



Review
****


Adrian is the vampire king, who is currently the target of a unknown assassin.  Being around,10,000 years old, he has given up on love, and without love has become tired of life.  He set against the idea of having a personal bodyguard babysitting him.  He believes all attempts on his life have been easily dealt with, why would he need help now?  
Xavier has agreed to be a body guard to the Vampire King, Expecting the task to be just another ordinary bodyguard duty.  But what he finds is a stubborn, immature man that fights against him being his protector.   But Xavier is also attracted to Adrian and fights his feeling for the King.  Trying to remain professional, after all what could come of it, they are from different worlds.

What follows is a story of changes and adaption, with some home truths.  Can Adrian allow Xavier   into his heart.  He has to decide whether to risk Adrian leaving him.

All this is going on as an unknown person is out to kill the king.I found the clash of personalities interesting and occasionally even funny. The story was well paced and descriptively written.  Drawing me into the story world.


I look forward to book 2


Thursday, 21 September 2017

An Unsuitable Heir by KJ Charles


Review

****

A good period Drama, must make the reader feel like they are right there in that time. And an Unsuitable Heir really does a great job of this. From the Brash men, to gentry, The foggy London streets. All the good ingredients for a story set in Victorian times.
This Novel has two very distinctive and very different main characters. With lots of mystery and angst.
We start where Pen a runaway trapeze artist, who is kind of hiding from his step family. Bumps into a man with one arm, on the fogy streets of London.
There is instant attraction between them. But unbeknown to Pen, Mark is a private investigator, who is in search of Pen and His twin sister.
Mark tries but fails to keep his attraction in check, as he feels it is unprofessional to fall for a person he has been hired to find.
Slowly Mark manages to convince Pen that he is A heir and rightfully a earl.
But Mark is not prepared for Pens disinterest in becoming an earl. Mark feels compelled to go against Pens wishes and Makes Pens status known. This does the opposite of what Mark intended and puts Pen and his sister in greater danger of a killer who has been trying to destroy evidence of Pens rightful title.



Mark now must hope Pen will forgive him, so he can protect him from the mysterious murderer. 
Eventually the killer is found, but does this mean Pen has to live a life he doesn’t want. Will he have to conform to what is expected of an Earl, is there any escape for Pen, and will he be able to trust Mark once more?



This is such a vivid read of a period in history that I love. The book has mystery, romance, hope, fear, loss, sadness, tension all mixed into a exciting and intriguing tale.


Saturday, 16 September 2017

Antisocial by Heidi Cullinan


Review 

*****

I Found this book very interesting, right from the start. It is a kind of opposites attract, but as the characters become closer and learn from each other. You find that maybe’s they are not so different after all.

Xander is anti-social, he keeps to himself and only communicates with others when he must. He avoids all social situations and even social media. And this is where the story Starts and how Xander meets Skyler. 


Xander needs to promote himself and his art as part of his qualification. And Skyler’s Frat House members have destroyed a piece of art at the Collage, so he feels bad and wants to do more than just make things right. He offers his services as a business promoter to the ART dept. and to Xander in general.


Now you will have already read other reviews warning that there is NO SEX in this book, but if that is usually a problem for you, I’d say give this book a try. No sex does not mean no intimacy or even no love making. One partner is not sexual but between them they find a way to be intimate and I dare say in their own way make love, which to me makes this book so much more intimate.


The story is very well thought out, and each scene brings things to the whole picture. The characters are chalk and cheese at the beginning, but by the end you realise that neither is quite what you expected, as a team they are a force to recon with.
I really enjoyed every word of this story, so much so that I have bought the Carry me Ocean series, that was mentioned in Meredith Kings review.



Goodreads   Amazon UK   Amazom COM

Tuesday, 15 August 2017

At Lodgings in Lyme (Oliver & Jack #2) by Christina E. Pilz



Review

*****

Oliver and Jack are on the run, leaving London for Lyme Regis. We follow their Journey in book two.  We see another side to Oliver, as Jack gets ill.  Oliver finds help in the form of a House Keeper at a Stately home.  She calls the local doctor to treat Jack.  But this also means Oliver is obliged to work to pay the doctors Bills.    So, this time tables are turned for a while at least.  And Oliver finds himself doing anything he needs to do, to ensure Jack gets the care he needs.   This of course does not bode well with Jack who believes he is the stronger, wiser guy, though he does appreciate what Oliver has done to ensure he recovers.

Oliver’s perfect picture of his mother is shattered and That makes Oliver determined to get Jack to find his family.  Of course, Jack refuses to budge on the subject.

I really like the way the author changed the Characters dynamics temporary without changing the character in total.  She has managed to show, we will do anything and everything for the ones we love.
As with the first book.  The story stays true to the original Oliver and Jack (Dodger), you really do feel like you are continuing the boys journey through life. 
You also get a vivid feel of the world back at the time the story takes place.  You are absorbed into the story world.

Tuesday, 8 August 2017

Quinn's Destiny (A Companion's Tale #1) by Emily Jean


Review
*****

This story is a cleverly woven with three main characters being Quinn A being created by warlocks, Desmond a warlock and Ralph a vampire prince.
Quinn is the central character, known as a warlock companion, created just a year ago to help the warlocks get the upper hand in the war that has been raging between warlocks and vampires. All seems straight, forward right?
It should have been, but fate has other ideas. A chain of events starts when Quinn’s warlock master is killed by Ralphs vampire brother. This sets Ralph on a mission to find Quinn, to see how his brother was killed.
When Ralph catches up with Quinn and takes him prisoner to question him. There is an instant attraction between them, a pull to each other.
Then the creator of Quinn comes after him and takes him back to Warlock territory. Where Quinn finds out he is not just a standard companion, He also has the same kind of pull toward Desmond his maker.
Quinn is caught between the two men, who are on opposite sides. Can they work a way for them to live together, can they find a solution? All this is happening in a bitter war that rages on around them.

The story is about trust, understanding and adjusting and hopefully finding common ground. The book paints a vivid story with three very different characters that weave a complicated life ahead.

The story is an exciting read, nicely paced and vivid descriptions.



Wednesday, 2 August 2017

Perfect Timing by Aimee Brissay


Review
*****

I really enjoyable read that has a little romance, a little mystery, a lot of paranormal and a little humor, and some fighting as you'd expect in a paranormal book. So put it another way it is a paranormal, mystery, romantic thriller. It certainly has you on the edge of your seat in parts and all gooey in other parts. You will be wanting to read just one more page .... and just one more and so on.

Valentin is a vampire on the run from other vampires, after he witnessed his coven being wiped out and his sire poisoned. He knows his time is numbered, on top of that he drank his Sires blood to see who killed him. The blood has poisoned his system and he is slowly losing his powers.

Shawn is a were-cat Jaguar, that has left his pride (pack) when he meets Valentin in a bar. something attracts him to the Vampire. and he instantly feels protective of the vampire. And so the story starts when three powerful vampires turn up and attack them. Succeeding in escaping we are off on a adventure and chase across Europe.

I loved Shawn's protective nature of Valentin, Both characters are well rounded but with Valentin 's health slowing failing it is up to Shawn to look out for him. But Valentin is taken before Shawn can get his head around being fated to a vampire. He has to figure out a way to save his mate before it is too late. 

The story is nicely paced and the world is presented to us vividly. I felt the atmosphere around the characters and the fear they were in.

An exciting read for any Paranormal book lover


Monday, 31 July 2017

Wrestling With Desire By D.H. Star




Review
*****



The author of this book is new to me, so I did not know what to expect. I am so pleased that I took a chance on this book. It is not quite like the typical coming of age /coming out story.
Both characters are strong mentally and well balanced. They are so different in how they deal with their emotions and yet so compatible. Neither is stronger or weaker than the other mentally and emotionally, which is a nice change from the typical Jock meets Nerd/Geek. They are both technically Jocks.
The story is about their meeting and navigating their new love and life in general. Derick finds it difficult to express his emotions in words. And Scot is good at expressing his emotions and at reading Scots emotions.
The Story is so well written, and delves into the character’s thoughts and emotions so well, you kind of see the world through them. The author has done a fantastic job of showing us the pressure and challenges young people have to deal with in today’s world.
Although based around Wrestling, you do not need to be a wrestling expert or even a fan of wrestling to enjoy the book. 
You may think that this book may be gloomy from what I have written but you would be so wrong. The author manages to keep the story warm and light most of the time. It is one of those books you will not want to put down once you start reading. 
I am having withdrawal symptoms waiting for book to to be re-edited and released.

Thursday, 27 July 2017

The Master Will Appear by L.A. Witt


Review

*****

This book was a fantastic read. A story of a young man that has constantly been mentally battered by his family. At first, Ryan comes across as an arrogant young man. But when he meets Misha at a fencing club, he is soon put in his place on the piste. After realizing he is not that good at fencing he asks Misha to teach him how to fence. There is a lot of tension and battles between them, but the sexual tension builds. Eventually, they give in to their mutual desires. This is where Ryan finds things out about himself. Like he feels at home on his knees in front of Misha. And Misha also learns things about Ryan, such as his messed up background, his down to earth attitude and determination to make his own way in life, even with a trust fund. There are rocky moments between the two of them, misunderstandings.

I have given this book 5stars because it is so well written, and shows BDSM as real and not just someone's fantasy come true. Loved both characters but Ryan just amazes me with his attitude to life and how he copes with his broken family. And how Misha gives him the courage to take control of his life.


Wednesday, 26 July 2017

Fagin's Boy (Oliver & Jack #1) by Christina E. Pilz


REVIEW
*****
I Thoroughly enjoyed catching up with Oliver and Jack (Dodger) When the author asked for arc reviewers, I just had to offer. I love period drama's, I love Oliver Twist (who does not?) and I love gritty stories. And I am happy to say the author delivered them all. The story is well written and I felt as though I was there at Oliver's side. We first see Oliver living a good life, and he often turns a blind eye to those who are in the position he was once in. Not because he is ashamed and uncaring but because he is trying so hard to forget his past. But with Jack back on the scene and His Employer/ Master's disregard and meanness to an orphan's life. Something breaks in Oliver's mind and he stands up to his Master. And this sets off a series of events that lead to Oliver being back where he was on the streets as a thief. The good news is he and Jack become close and eventually get it on. But events force them to run from London..... And so I wait for book two lol.

So well written and the time period and characters are well portrayed. Great read.